Showing posts with label sports. Show all posts
Showing posts with label sports. Show all posts
0

can't our players just get along?

Ughh. Portis needs to stop talking. Every time he opens his mouth he says something stupid. He pretty much came out and called Campbell a pushover who sucks as a team captain. Stuff like this really annoys me as a loyal Redskins fan. Then again, if we had a winning record this season, maybe I wouldn't be so easily annoyed. Oh well, I'm just glad Campbell came back and defended himself. I can't say that Portis is 100% wrong in what he said, but why does he always have to be so disrespectful? I wonder which one of them will be gone by next season...my money's on Portis.

Then there's Arenas. Good ol' Gilbert. I wonder at what point he thought it would be a good idea to bring not one, but three guns into the locker room. So, now he's suspended indefinitely for taking his guns out and playing a not so funny joke on Javaris Crittenton after they had an argument a few nights before. In his defense, they were supposedly unloaded and the argument between him and Javaris Crittenton stemmed from a card game. I know what its like to be a sore loser...just ask my husband after he came back to beat me in Mario Kart.

Oh, and Welcome to D.C., Shanahan!!
Can't wait to see what the off-season brings. HAIL!


0

FĂștbol Americano

I can't believe the weekend is already over! We spent Saturday watching college football with some friends at our place, then headed up to the Steakhouse across the street to watch the Tech game. I really wish I had a team to root for. I blame the fact that GMU didn't have a team. Who knows if this is true, but it was rumored that the Skins were going to help build a stadium for them so they could practice there, meanwhile giving GMU the chance to build up a team. Supposedly the Dean didn't want GMU to become that kind of school. Well, I wanted to go to that kind of school!! Anyways, without a team to root for, I am left with certain teams to pull for - WVU, Notre Dame, & Navy. Naturally I have to pull for the hubby's team, WVU, since he went there for his freshman year. The other two teams, I have always liked, plus my Dad was in the Navy. Having said that, Saturday was a good day for all of those teams. Well, except Navy of course, who almost pulled off a win against the Buckeyes...I still think they should have ran the 2 pt conversion in. Why is it that college games are so much more exciting than the NFL? It seems like once players reach the NFL they no longer have to play their hearts out since they are guaranteed $$$. I wish they would just play each game as if they needed to get signed. Then maybe the majority of the Skins games wouldn't be decided by an OT field goal! Wishful thinking of course...


2

things i'm excited about...

  • Caps are leading the series 2-0! A win tonight in Pittsburgh would be huge! I'm so jealous of my Mom and Llew's seats. They have season tickets 4 rows behind the glass...this picture was from ESPN.com. And look, there's Llew!!

  • My first Mother's Day is coming up! I'm looking forward to spending the day with Brian and Lily and celebrating this blessing.

  • Nikon D90 on sale!! This week I've found it online including the additional zoom lens for a great price. I reallyyy want this camera, even though I should be saving for more important things. Although, my birthday is around the corner! Happy early birthday to me?

  • May 24th, my birthday. After 25 it's not really exciting.

  • June 1st, Brian's 25th birthday! I'm technically going to be 2 years older than him for one week. You can call me Cougar!! yippee.

  • June 28th-July 4th. Vacation...finally! Heading down to Seneca, SC for the week at Lake Keowee.
0

C-A-P-S! CAPS CAPS CAPS!

I've always been a big fan of Sergei Fedorov and was so excited when he came to Washington. So, it's no surprise that I love him even more after last night! Wooo hooo!

Go CAPS!!



Bring on the Pens!!
0

Skins' Draft Picks, Caps Game 7

I'm so glad the Skins didn't blow anymore of their money or future draft picks for Mark Sanchez. Granted, with our luck, he'll end up taking the Jets to the Superbowl, but for once, we need consistency with our offense and with Campbell still adjusting to a new system under Zorn, it would just take us back to square one with another new QB. Besides, I'm sure Snyder only wanted Sanchez for his marketability and good looks. What better way to earn him even more money, than a franchise player who could become the next face of the NFL? So, I may eat my words later this year when the Skins finish another mediocre season, but for now I am happy with the first couple draft picks we made:

Round 1 - Brian Orakpo DE - I don't follow college football too closely, but from what I hear, this man is a beast, a monster, a freak...and I love it! I mean look at him, he's huge! I'm surprised we were able to get him at No. 13 and although we could have used an OT, you can't pass him up and hopefully he will help the Skins pass rush. We sure as hell need it.

Round 3 - Kevin Barnes CB - Again, we could have used our picks to build up our offensive line, but I guess they were all taken during Round 2. (Good thing we traded our Round 2 pick for Taylor last year, that sure helped.) It looks like Barnes shows promise with his speed and agility...and with a hit like this, he kind of reminds me of Sean Taylor.

Our defense is stacking up nicely! Hopefully the Skins will develop some of their offensive linemen during the off-season and with the signing of two talented undrafted linemen (Burley & Williams) from UMD, we'll see what happens.


No, no I'm not. I'm so nervous/excited/anxious that I don't even want to watch. All I want is for them to pull this win off...then to win the next series, then the finals and go on to win the Stanley Cup, is that too much to ask?? I'm really hoping we win, but we don't have Brashear (thanks to a 6 game suspension) and we're playing at home so all the pressure is on us to win. Come on Ovie! I want to see more goals like this. We need to redeem ourselves from last year's loss in overtime in this exact same scenario. Can we pull it off tonight? I'm getting nauseous thinking about it. Maybe it's better if we lose tonight, I physically can't handle a Washington team being good for once.
Go CAPS!!
0

"insert clever post title here"


Brian and I are off to Atlantic City today! An overnight stay at the Tropicana. Like I said earlier, this should be interesting, as it's my first time in a casino. Let's hope I get beginner's luck and win big! Either way, I'm just excited to have a fun night out of town. We're leaving Lilyan in the hands of Tracy & Josh. Don't worry, I made sure to type up an instructions manual. I used to hate when I'd babysit and there would be a long list of directions and rules to follow...pshh like I didn't know what I was doing. Yet, that didn't stop me from detailing out Lily's daily schedule from sleeping to eating down to what to do if she gets the hiccups. I've become the stereotypical mother, but it's not until I became a mother that I realized there's no other type of mother. It just took me having a child of my own to finally understand it all. Although, I still refuse to get a mini-van and carry around a Winnie the Pooh diaper bag....and please please shoot me if I ever show up at your house wearing a pair of these:
-------------------------------------------
In other great sports news..


C-A-P-S CAPS CAPS CAPS!

It's a great time to be a CAPS fan!

One more point and they clinch 
the No. 2 seed and home-ice advantage
in the second round of playoffs. 

LET'S GO CAPS!




UNC beats MSU = Bracket Challenge Winner!

Finally, I won a pool at work! All the time that I put into running the various pools at work for football and March Madness and yet I have not won once...until now! 


P.S. - Is anyone else going to Cooley's Rally for the Cure