Showing posts with label milestone. Show all posts
Showing posts with label milestone. Show all posts
0

7 months already?!!

Don't let this innocent face fool you. 

Lately, Lilyan has been testing our patience. She no longer sits still to let you change her clothes or diaper. She insists on flipping over and screams when you turn her back around. 

The second you set her down in her crib when she falls asleep, she pops right up and tries to get out. No matter how tired she is, she knows instantaneously when she's there. Sometimes though, she'll spare us a couple of minutes and will "sleep" and minutes later when it's way too quiet, I'll check on her and find her like this:


It looks like its time to drop the crib lower! 

Then, whenever you tell her "no" she acts as if you are playing a game with her. She gives you this look, laughs, and is right back to what she was doing:


 It's really amazing how fast she is growing. All in a matter of weeks she has sat up on her own, started crawling, and now pulling herself up to stand! Slow down!!

Happy 7 Months Lilyan!!



0

lily's baptism....

...was beautiful! Even though it was a million degrees outside and the A/C had been turned off in the church an hour before the ceremony, Lily was a happy camper and didn't cry once. I was so proud of her. The long silk gown she wore was enough for me to be miserable just by holding her, but she was all smiles in front of the crowd of 50+. She even kept her cool while the pastor poured water over her head. The pastor said it was a first that a baby has never cried during a baptism! He also said he's never seen such a large crowd for a private ceremony. Needless to say, 90% of the gathering was related to Brian. My side was definitely not as represented. 

The reception afterwards was just as I planned (well kinda). The food was amazing, the decorations were beautiful, and the cupcakes were adorable! 

[with the godparents Chris & Tracy]





0

4 months old and 2 weeks late!

I can't believe my Lil G is already 4 and 1/2 months old. It didn't hit me until this morning how big she has gotten. As I held her in one arm and made a bottle in my other, she kept grabbing for the bottle. Then as I'm washing one of the 20 parts to the Dr. Brown bottles, she grabs the middle piece right out of the bottle and puts it in her mouth. She clearly understands what a bottle is these days, assembled or not. Even more impressive, she can hold her own bottle now! Of course when I'm not helping her hold it I stuff a blanket under for some support, but still, how did she get so big so fast? Another thing she's fond of is rolling over and over until she's about 6 feet from her playmat. As always, it's the little things she does that never cease to amaze me. So, in addition to grabbing and rolling, she's eating baby food now! I started her out on oatmeal and rice cereal and have moved on to butternut squash, sweet potatoes, bananas, and avocado. I have yet to get the Beaba Babycook, but nonetheless am still attempting to make her food myself. So far it's been pretty easy and the butternut squash, which I roasted for 40 mins., made about 10 servings! Cheap, easy, and yummy (I ate some myself).

oh and just an FYI, b/c I'm weeks late in posting this...
@ Lily's 4 month check-up she weighed 13lb 6 oz. and was 24.5 inches long


So, in other news....


Last weekend was Brian's birthday! I'm so glad it's over...but only because I had planned a surprise outing and it was stressing me out having to keep it a secret from him.

So in a nutshell here's how it went:


Friday - Brian goes out with friends, I stay home worried that his friends are ruining the surprise for the following night.


Saturday - 9am: Brian almost ruins my plan for the night when he claims he is "too hungover to go out tonight." 6pm: Cookout at Brian's parents...I'm still stressing out about everything. I can't enjoy myself because the limo bus is picking up all of his friends while we're there and I'm getting antsy. 8pm: Limo bus is on it's way to Brian's parents to surprise Brian. 8:15pm: Bus has arrived and Brian still has no idea. We get ready to go out to a bar in "Ashburn", head out the door, then I wrap a blindfold around his eyes. He gets on the bus and 25 of his close friends are on the bus..SURPRISE! We take him to Arlington and go on a mini bar crawl, meanwhile he is wearing a list of tasks he has to complete throughout the night. Some of my favorites..."Kiss a Cougar", "Back that thang up to a dirty girl", "Take a blowjob shot". hahaha what a great night.

Sunday - Charles Town...Races and Slots! Surprisingly, I've never been there. Also surprising was the fact that we actually went considering the massive hangovers we all had. Nothing a little bloody mary couldn't fix! So, we went there and I won 3 of the 5 races I bet on....beginner's luck? I ended on a good note thanks to betting on horse 9 Shining Charlotte to win straight up in the last race!



Next weekend I leave for Dallas for a week for work. I am not pumped at all. For starters I hate hate HATE flying, (but love traveling...how does that work?) and second, this will be the first time I'm away from Lily for more than a day. Ughh....oh well...que sera sera! One thing I am looking forward to? Our one week vacation in Seneca, South Carolina at my uncle's lake house! We leave on June 28th...I can't wait!
0

2 month check-up


Lilyan is 2 months old! I can't believe it...she's so much more alert now and full of smiles. Yesterday was her 2 month check-up and she's weighing 10lbs 12 oz. and 23 inches long! Right along the 50th percentile.

We've been really blessed with a good baby. She hardly ever cries and sleeps through the night. I know that will all change, the older she gets, but for now I am counting our blessings! Prior to yesterday, I could probably count the number of times I've heard her cry (hysterically) on one hand. So, of course it was heartbreaking to hear her cry when she got her 2 vaccine shots yesterday. Not only that, but she caught my cold, so I had to use the saline drops and aspirator for her stuffy nose. She's not a big fan of that either. Then she developed a fever of 101.4, so needless to say she was a sad baby yesterday. Poor girl. Today she is much better though, she's back with Grandee and her temperature is back to normal.

I look forward to this month with her..each day gets better and better and it's so exciting to see her grow and accomplish each milestone:

By the end of month three a baby typically:

  • Raises head and chest when put on tummy
  • Lifts head up 45 degrees
  • Kicks and straightens legs when on back
  • Open and shuts hands
  • Pushes down with legs when placed on a hard surface
  • Reaches for dangling objects
  • Grasps and shakes hand toys
  • Tracks moving objects
  • Begins to imitate sounds
  • Recognizes familiar objects and people, even at a distance
  • Begins to develop a social smile
  • Begins to develop hand-eye coordination
  • Brings both hands together
  • Interested in circular and spiral patterns
  • Kicks legs energetically
  • Holds head up with control
-iVillage, by Lisa Schulman
1

back to reality.

Work sucks. Today is officially my first day back at work. Luckily not too many people know I'm back yet, so I haven't been bombarded with phone calls or emails. I like this..I can just sit here inconspicuously and get paid. Although we are going through a re-org, so I may want to get some work done or else they might phase me out like Milton from Office Space.

Now for a little weekend update:
  • Lily smiles now! and I'm not talkin about the gassy smiles..
  • Friday night - I drank too much. We had a few friends...wait just one friend over..and played Scene It Seinfeld - love that game! I actually don't miss drinking that much and definitely don't miss the hangovers.
  • Saturday - got some news that one of my bff's is gettin married! Congrats Sarah & Sam!! I'm thinking they might have a Harry Potter themed wedding around Christmas time. haha jk Sarah!
  • Sunday - finished "New Moon". Only 2 away from getting VIP access at the Twilight Party later this month...haha don't ask. This is the one guilty pleasure that I'm letting myself get away with.
  • Monday - Snow day!
So come to think of it, my weekends have been pretty lame lately. Hopefully this weekend will be more promising. I need to start planning a ladies night...any ideas ladies? I think Brian owes me one or two considering the circumstances over the past 10 months :)
1

silly lily


Lily is now 5 weeks old and I can't believe how much she has grown in such a short amount of time. It's amazing that I am able to pick up on the changes each day. Today I noticed that her eyelashes are now all black and no longer blonde. It's such a moot point, but just goes to show that each day something new comes up and that I get excited just the same.

Doctor's visits:
1 week visit = 7 lbs 1 oz, 20"
2 week visit = 8 lbs 2 oz, 21"
1 month visit = 9 lbs 4 oz, 21.75"

Our little peanut is getting big! Well, I should say heavier, because based on her length and head measurements she's only in the 50th percentile. Also, I'm not sure why, but since she was born she's been able to hold her head up for longer periods of time than normal. We try to keep her head down so she's not straining her neck, but then she just pushes our hands out of the way with her head! She's a strong girl! Oh and today, thanks to my friend Kennedy, I found this great site for baby clothes, hats, books, etc etc.

After reading her blog I wanted to contribute to the Cora Paige Project and bought a hat from the site where the proceeds go to the foundation. Then after a little more surfing, I came across another cute monkey hat. I can't wait to get them in the mail! 4-6 days away from another lily photo shoot :) I introduced her to the Bumbo today and she loved it! She didn't want me to take her out of it..something about her being independent and being able to see everything just makes her happy. Maybe that's why she doesn't like the Moby wrap because she's not old enough to face outwards yet. I thought the Moby was golden until I tried to put her in it when she was awake. She almost unraveled the whole thing by flailing her arms around! So until she's a bit stronger and old enough to be in the Lotus Hold, I will have to eliminate the Moby wrap, in addition to the bouncer...the two saviors I was counting on :(